Dénes Várjon and Izabella Simon play one of their favourite two-piano works to open this colourful and highly emotional concert, also featuring star turns from violinist Harumi Rhodes of the Takács Quartet and contrabassist Hiroshi Ikematsu. And finally, we are delighted to present the New Zealand premiere of the Florence Price Piano Quintet, a work that was almost lost but has had a revival in the past few years. Written in 1935 the work hearkens back to the Late Romantic style with impressionist touches and a ragtime-inspired Scherzo.

Schumann/Debussy – Two-Piano Works – Dénes Várjon, Izabella Simon (piano)

Janáček – Violin Sonata – Harumi Rhodes (violin), Dénes Várjon (piano)

Piazzolla – Kicho – Hiroshi Ikematsu (contrabass), Izabella Simon (piano)

Price – Piano Quintet – Izabella Simon (piano), Takács Quartet


Adam Chamber Music Festival

5 February, 2024
7:30 pm
Nelson Centre of Musical Arts


Book Tickets


Nelson Centre of Musical Arts

48 Nile St
Nelson, 7010 New Zealand

Book tickets for Romance

Book Tickets