NSO presents Aotearoa Showcase


Four composers and three soloists, all New Zealanders, feature in Aotearoa, a richly flavoured concert by the Nelson Symphony Orchestra conducted by James Donaldson, the director of the Nelson Centre of Music Arts.

Douglas Lilburn was in his early twenties when he composed his lively and youthful sounding Festival Overture while he was studying with Vaughan Williams at the Royal College of Music in London in the late 1930’s.

Chris Adams composed his Elegy after the destruction of the Twin Towers in New York in 2001. He subtitles his work “for a world obsessed with violence”.

Philip Brownlee and Ariana Tikao explore the captivating sounds of Taonga Pūoru in their concerto for Maori instruments and orchestra entitled Ko te tātai whetū (a cloak of stars), a work dedicated to the iconic Richard Nunns. The soloists are Philip Brownlee and Bob Bickerton.

The NSO’s “solo spotlight” competition held this year has selected three young Wellingtonians to perform concertos with the orchestra.

Hayden Nickel willperform the first movement from the Violin Concertoin E minor by Mendelssohn. He is studying with Helene Pohl of the New Zealand String Quartet.

Peter Liley is a saxophonist, singer, composer and sound artist. He will perform the Saxophone Concertoby Glazunov.

Peter Gjelsten is the concert master in the Wellington College orchestra. He will perform the Finale from the Violin Concerto No. 1 by Bruch.


Aotearoa Nelson Symphony Orchestra

Conducted by James Donaldson NCMA

Nelson School of Music Auditorium

Saturday 27 July 7.30pm

Tickets are available at TicketDirect.

Share this on Social Media